Certificate in Waka

  • Level 4
  • 36 weeks
  • No fees

Programme overview:

Leads to:
Te Pokaitahi Tikanga Māori (Waka) (Kaupae 4)
New Zealand Certificate in Tikanga (Waka) (Level 4)

Follow the nautical traditions of our ancestors as you develop confidences and skills in tikanga waka. Learn the history and maritime practices that made Māori legendary seafarers.

This programme is for people who want to gain knowledge in practical Waka Ama and Waka Kōpapa (shallow hull) skills, water safety, waka types, history and traditions, tikanga Māori and whakapapa.

You'll learn about:

  • Māori nautical history
  • traditional and contemporary waka
  • waka construction
  • weather interpretation
  • coastguard boating education day skipper qualification
  • tikanga, karakia and waiata
  • water survival competency
  • event management
  • health and nutrition

You'll know how to:

  • apply correct paddling skills
  • explain Māori navigation techniques
  • explain the differences between traditional and contemporary waka
  • ensure safety in the water
  • use tikanga relating to waka

Where will this take me?

I want to keep studying

You'll be able to enrol in our Diploma in Waka Level 5. Or you may want to move into other study with sports, Tū Taua, Rongoā Māori or Mātauranga Māori.

I want to use my qualification

You could seek opportunities in tourism, hospitality & retail, education and horticulture.

You could also seek opportunities with whānau Māori, communities, local and regional bodies and agencies seeking to broaden their knowledge base in kaupapa Māori.

How you'll study:

  • 3-hour class once a week
  • 2 one-day wānanga
  • 8 noho marae

Entry criteria:

You must be at least 16 years old, complete a water survival competency test and complete a HS40 medical information form.

Enrol Now

Provide feedback on this page

We want your feedback

Let us know about your experience with our website. We'll take your feedback into consideration as we develop the site.

Close feedback