Diploma in Waka

  • Level 5
  • 36 weeks
  • No fees

Programme overview:

Qualification: Te Pōkairua Tikanga (Waka) Kaupae 5 - New Zealand Diploma in Tikanga (Waka) Level 5

Te Wānanga o Aotearoa is proud to offer our first diploma qualification in Waka. The Diploma in Waka advances your confidence and knowledge in waka skills and practice with high-performance long-distance waka ama paddling, open seas waka hourua sailing and navigation techniques.

You'll also learn about the nautical traditions that brought Māori to Aotearoa, advanced water safety skills, waka hourua practices, weather interpretation, environmentalism and much more.

Are you eligible for fees-free study?

First time tertiary students studying for fee paying programmes at Te Wānanga o Aotearoa will be fees-free from 2018.

We’ve been providing fees-free study for the majority of our programmes for more than 30 years and are committed to tauira success.

To find out whether you are eligible for fees-free study for our fee paying programmes visit the Fees Free Website.

You'll learn about:

  • advanced physical and psychological fitness
  • advanced weather interpretation
  • Maritime Restricted Radio Operators Certificate (MRROC)
  • advanced water survival competency
  • long distance waka ama techniques
  • waka hourua
  • navigation
  • NZ sports anti-doping
  • advancing your knowledge of health and nutrition
  • event management.

You'll know how to:

  • perform responsibilities of a waka hourua crew member
  • survive in the water
  • operate a maritime VHF radio
  • navigate waka
  • show long-distance and advanced paddling techniques
  • predict and analyse weather patterns
  • recite karakia and waiata
  • undertake a kaitiaki wai project.

Where will this take me

I want to keep studying

Te Wānanga o Aotearoa is planning to advance our waka provision in the near future. You may want to pathway into our master's programme, He Waka Hiringa.

I want to use my qualification

You'll be ready for high-level waka competition or open water sailing on waka hourua. You could also apply your skills in tourism, hospitality and retail, education, environmentalism or media.

Entry criteria:

You must:

  • be at least 16 years old
  • have successfully completed the Certificate in Waka Ama Level 4
  • have completed the advanced water survival competency test
  • have completed an HS40 medical information form.

Enrol Now

button for easy access to information about this qualification

Provide feedback on this page

We want your feedback

Let us know about your experience with our website. We'll take your feedback into consideration as we develop the site.

Close feedback