Skip Content

Te Wānanga o Aotearoa campuses and sites are organised in to three takiwā (districts): Te Kei (southern), Te Waenga (central) and Te Ihu (northern).  Each takiwā is led by the Takiwā Director.


Bernard Te Paa

Ngāti Whātua, Te Rarawa, Te Aupouri, Waikato

Te Hoe Whakatere - Te Ihu Takiwā

Bernard has more than 20 years experience working in senior positions for public entities. He led the Auckland Council’s Māori economic development programme and implemented its approach to establishing relationships with iwi entities.

Prior to this, Bernard was General Manager Māori Health at Counties Manukau District Health Board, where he was responsible for restructuring the delivery and contracting of services to Māori.

He holds a Master of Public Administration and a Postgraduate Diploma of Business.



Jocelyn Mikaere

Ngāti Pūkenga , Ngāti Maru, Ngāti Kahungunu

Te Hoe Whakatere - Te Waenga Takiwā

Jocelyn ran a whānau-based mussel business in the Coromandel while completing a conjoint LLB/BA at the University of Auckland in the mid-1990s.

After building substantial commercial interests in the aquaculture industry she returned to study to complete an MBA and eventually oversaw hundreds of staff and a multi-million dollar budget as the assistant general manager for Visa Services at Immigration New Zealand.

Jocelyn started work as the Hoe Whakatere - Takiwā Director for Te Waenga Takiwā in June and oversees the sites within the Waikato/Tainui, Waiariki and Tairāwhiti regions.


Matthew Maynard


Te Hoe Whakatere, Te Kei takiwā

Matthew Maynard has worked with the organisation for more than 13 years in operations support, operations management and as a former Kaiwhakahaere-a-Rohe based in Porirua.

He has more than 20 years experience in senior leadership, project management, advisory and operational positions.

Matthew previously worked with the Inland Revenue Department and Work and Income New Zealand’s International Affairs Unit progressing to Project Management, Advisory and Management roles within the National Offices of both departments.

Provide feedback on this page