Mau Rākau - Māori Martial Arts

Toi Paematua - Diploma in Māori and Indigenous Art

  • Level 5
  • 38 weeks
  • No fees

Programme overview:

Mau rākau is an art form that is unique to Aotearoa, and this qualification allows those who have previously studied mau rākau the opportunity to advance their skills towards becoming a practitioner and contributor of a Māori martial art.

Designed to advance your current practices and techniques, you'll hone your skills through a number of different projects throughout your studies. Focus on advancing your creative processes, putting what you learn into practice, deepening your understanding of the history of mau rākau and improving yourself and your fitness levels.

When you pass this programme, you'll get this qualification:

  • New Zealand Diploma in Ngā Toi Level 5 (Mau Rākau)

You'll learn about:

  • advanced mau rākau practices
  • the history and whakapapa of mau rākau
  • effective time management and organisation
  • health and safety that relates to mau rākau practices
  • assess the creative process of mau rākau and its application.

Where will this take me?

I want to keep studying

You might be eligible to enrol into a Level 6 programme with another provider.

I want to use my qualification

With skills at this level you'll be able to share your knowledge with others interested in learning mau rākau. You'll also be able to support your whānau, marae, hapū and iwi in pōwhiri and other ceremonial events.

How you'll study:

This is a full-time programme that consists of 120 credits delivered over 38 weeks. Some of our locations offer different delivery modes. These will be confirmed by your local campus and might include:

Option 1 (face to face delivery):

  • kura whakaako - compulsory tutorials (10 hours per week)
  • 4 x 1-day wānanga (10 hours each)

You'll also need to complete learning activities designed to enhance your learning for approximately 22 hours per week.

Option 2 (noho delivery):

  • 10 x noho (25 hours per noho)
  • 1-day wānanga (10 hours)
  • kura whakaako - compulsory tutorials (4 hours per week)

You'll also need to complete learning activities designed to enhance your learning for approximately 22 hours per week.

Entry criteria:

To enrol in this programme, a potential student must:

  • be at least 16 years of age
  • be a New Zealand citizen (or citizen of Australia, Tokelau, Niue, Cook Islands) or permanent resident
  • have successfully completed the Level 4 Kāwai Raupapa certificate or an equivalent toi Māori qualification consisting of 120 Level 4 credits, or can provide evidence of equivalent experience which could include an art portfolio
  • attend an interview and selection process to demonstrate suitability to the programme.

Enrol Now

Ask a question
Provide feedback on this page

We want your feedback

Let us know about your experience with our website. We'll take your feedback into consideration as we develop the site.

Close feedback