Te Hapūtanga o te Ao Tikanga

NZ Diploma in Tikanga

  • Level 5
  • 40 weeks - full-time
  • No fees

Programme overview:

Following on from our level 4 programme, Te Hapūtanga o te Ao Tikanga is the next step to continue to develop your understanding of tikanga protocols and cultural practices relating to the specialised area of interest your studies are focused on.

You’ll further advance your technical and practical skills of tikanga within their proper context. You will also develop your ability to critically consider and analyse the thinking behind tikanga and its many applications in not only te ao Māori, but the modern world around us.

When you pass this programme, you'll get this qualification:

  • Te Pōkairua Tikanga (Mātauranga Māori) Kaupae 5 – NZ Diploma in Tikanga (Mātauranga Māori) Level 5

You'll learn about:

  • the ability to critically consider the thinking behind tikanga and its many applications in te ao Māori and the modern world
  • an operational ability to manage and apply the tikanga in a range of diverse contexts including leadership, problem solving and rangahau
  • an in-depth knowledge of tikanga protocols and cultural practices that provide solutions to modern day problems.

How you'll study:

This is a full-time programme that consists of 120 credits delivered over 40 weeks. Throughout the programme you will be required to attend: 

  • 8 x noho (25 hours per noho)
  • tutorials, 1-day wānanga, Zoom hui or field trips (an average of 1.2 hours per week)

You'll also need to complete learning activities designed to enhance your learning for approximately: 

  • 26.4 hours per week

Dates of your noho marae, tutorials, 1-day wānanga, Zoom hui or field trips will be confirmed by your kaiako (tutor).

Some of the learning activities will need to be completed online. You’ll need to have access to an internet-connected device for this programme. 

Entry criteria

To enrol in this programme, a potential student must:

  • be at least 16 years of age
  • be a New Zealand citizen (or citizen of Australia, Tokelau, Niue, Cook Islands) or permanent resident
  • reside in New Zealand
  • have a Level 4 qualification in tikanga, or relevant experience
  • must attend an information hui with a kaiako.

Download factsheet

Where will this take me?

I want to keep studying

You can continue on to the Level 6 programme, Te Whānautanga o te Ao Tikanga.

I want to use my qualification

Specialising in a specific tikanga practice will enable you to identify and apply tikanga in that practice and compare its application in other practices.

Provide feedback on this page

We want your feedback

Let us know about your experience with our website. We'll take your feedback into consideration as we develop the site.

Close feedback