Vanessa Eparaima

Council Chair

Vanessa moved back into the chair’s position in April 2021 after having previously served for a number of years as chair, then deputy chair for a period, helping lead the council through a busy time of change for Te Wānanga o Aotearoa.

Appointee: Skills-based

Iwi: Raukawa, Ngāti Tuwharetoa

Term ends: 28 July 2025

Vanessa’s key roles include being chair of the Raukawa Settlement Trust since 2012 and being the director and former chairperson of Raukawa Iwi Development Ltd, the $140 million commercial arm of the iwi.

Also, as chair of the Raukawa Charitable Trust, Vanessa leads strategy and oversight of the trust’s social, cultural and environmental operations.

In addition to these roles she chairs Te Kākano Whakatipu Ltd – a company of six central North Island iwi with forestry interests in Kaingaroa – and is a director of Central North Island Iwi Holdings Limited, which is tasked with negotiating and finalising the replant right and investment option over the Kaingaroa Forest with the NZ Super Fund.

Contact Council

Email Sarah-Jane Morkel – council secretary – at

Phone 0800 355 553 from Monday to Friday, 8am to 6pm

Ask a question online

Provide feedback on this page

We want your feedback

Let us know about your experience with our website. We'll take your feedback into consideration as we develop the site.

Close feedback