He Tikanga Whakaaro

NZ Certificate in Tikanga (Mātauranga Māori)

  • Level 4
  • Study at home
  • 12 months
  • No fees

This programme is full for 2020, with limited spaces available in 2021.

Your start date might be several months after you complete your enrolment.

Programme overview:

Tikanga has been evolving for thousands of years – refined and handed down through the generations. This programme passes on a broad range of Māori knowledge, allowing you to appreciate the depth and beauty of Māori beliefs and values to ensure tikanga practices are nurtured, maintained and embraced for generations to come.

He Tikanga Whakaaro is a home-based programme supported by a kaitiaki (support person) who will meet with you during your studies.

Upon successful completion of this programme, you will receive the following qualification:

  • New Zealand Certificate in Tikanga (Mātauranga Māori) Level 4

You'll learn about:

  • marae protocols and practices
  • tangihanga (funerals)
  • respectful relationships
  • rongoā Māori (traditional remedies)
  • māra kai (gardening)
  • Māori Land Court or governance
  • te reo Māori.

Where will this take me

I want to keep studying

We offer a range of classroom-based tikanga programmes up to level 6. The subject options may vary depending on your location.

I want to use my qualification

You'll graduate with a NZQA approved qualification to show you have a good understanding of Mātauranga Māori, which will enhance your career in roles that work with Māori, such as tourism, hospitality, retail and education.

How you'll study

This is a full-time programme that consists of 120 credits delivered over 52 weeks.

Throughout the programme you will be required to complete set activities each week from home. These activities will take approximately 23 hours of learning per week.

All details regarding your learning are available within your kete which will be sent to you throughout the year.

Entry criteria

To enrol in this programme, a potential student must:

  • be at least 18 years of age
  • be a New Zealand citizen (or citizen of Australia, Tokelau, Niue, Cook Islands) or permanent resident.
Provide feedback on this page

We want your feedback

Let us know about your experience with our website. We'll take your feedback into consideration as we develop the site.

Close feedback