Certificate in Waka

  • Level 4
  • 38 weeks
  • No fees

Programme overview:

Follow the nautical traditions of our ancestors as you develop confidence and skills in tikanga waka. Learn the history and maritime practices that made Māori legendary seafarers.

This programme is for people who want to gain knowledge in practical waka ama and waka kōpapa (shallow hull) skills, water safety, waka types, history and traditions, tikanga Māori and whakapapa.

Upon successful completion of this programme, you will receive the following qualification:

  • New Zealand Certificate in Tikanga (Waka) Level 4

You'll learn about:

  • Māori nautical history
  • traditional and contemporary waka
  • waka construction
  • weather interpretation
  • Coastguard Boating Education Day Skipper qualification
  • tikanga, karakia and waiata
  • water survival competency
  • event management
  • health and nutrition.

Where will this take me?

I want to keep studying

You may move into other study with sport, rongoā Māori or mātauranga Māori. You can also apply for our Diploma in Waka programme.

I want to use my qualification

You could seek opportunities in tourism, hospitality and retail, education and horticulture. You could also assist whānau Māori, communities, local and regional bodies and agencies wanting to broaden their knowledge base in kaupapa Māori.

How you'll study:

This is a full-time programme that consists of 120 credits delivered over 38 weeks. Throughout the programme you will be required to attend:

  • 1 x kura whakaako - compulsory classes (3 hours per week)
  • 8 x noho marae (23 hours per noho)
  • 4 x one-day wānanga (12 hours per wānanga)

In addition to these, you’ll be expected to complete learning activities designed to enhance your learning for approximately 24 hours per week.

In some locations this programme may be provided by an approved sub-contract arrangement.

Entry criteria:

To enrol in this programme, a potential student must:

  • be at least 16 years of age
  • be a New Zealand citizen (or citizen of Australia, Tokelau, Niue, Cook Islands) or permanent resident
  • either be a graduate of a Level 2 or Level 3 qualification (or equivalent) or demonstrate competence in a numeracy and literacy exercise that reflects the comprehension, writing and numerical abilities for the programme
  • be made aware, at point of enrolment, of the need to complete the water survival competency test
  • complete an HS40 Medical Information form.
Provide feedback on this page

We want your feedback

Let us know about your experience with our website. We'll take your feedback into consideration as we develop the site.

Close feedback