Diploma in Waka

  • Level 5
  • 38 weeks
  • No fees

Programme overview:

Advance your confidence and knowledge in waka skills and practice with high-performance long-distance waka ama paddling, open seas waka hourua sailing and navigation techniques.

You'll also learn about the nautical traditions that brought Māori to Aotearoa, advanced water safety skills, waka hourua practices, weather interpretation, environmentalism and much more.

When you pass this programme, you'll get this qualification:

  • New Zealand Diploma in Tikanga (Waka) Level 5

You'll learn about:

  • advanced physical and psychological fitness
  • advanced weather interpretation
  • Maritime Restricted Radio Operators Certificate (MRROC)
  • advanced water survival competency
  • long distance waka ama techniques
  • waka hourua
  • navigation
  • NZ sports anti-doping
  • advancing your knowledge of health and nutrition
  • event management.

Where will this take me?

I want to keep studying

You'll be able to apply for our master's programme, He Waka Hiringa - Master of Applied Indigenous Knowledge level 9.

I want to use my qualification

You'll be ready for high-level waka competition or open water sailing on waka hourua. You could also apply your skills in tourism, hospitality and retail, education, environmentalism or media.

How you'll study:

This is a full-time programme that consists of 120 credits delivered over 38 weeks. Throughout the programme you will be required to attend:

  • 1 x kura whakaako - compulsory classes (3 hours per week)
  • 8 x noho marae (23 hours per noho)
  • 2 x 1-day wānanga (9 hours per wānanga)

In addition to these, you’ll be expected to complete learning activities designed to enhance your learning for approximately 25 hours per week.

In some locations this programme might be provided by an approved sub-contract arrangement.

Entry criteria:

To enrol in this programme, a potential student must:

  • be at least 16 years old
  • be a New Zealand citizen (or citizen of Australia, Tokelau, Niue, Cook Islands) or permanent resident
  • must have successfully completed the Certificate in Waka Level 4
  • be made aware, at the point of enrolment, the need to complete the water survival competency test
  • complete an HS40 Medical Information form.
Provide feedback on this page

We want your feedback

Let us know about your experience with our website. We'll take your feedback into consideration as we develop the site.

Close feedback